Ooeygooeydrippy goodness, and somewhat lacking photographic skills

Don’t judge my pictures!! It was gooey and delicious, just trust me. Kira can vouch!

Graduation?! How did THAT happen?? I can’t believe I’m five weeks (ish) away from the cap/gown/stole/tassel whizzbang. Really? I get to be a real person? Ha. umm… pass?

Just kidding. I’m excited! I’m ready to do something different (not to mention be done foreverrr with my thesis! That is going to feel SO GOOD. It might even call for cake. Or some form of celebratory baked goods. And a present of new active wear for myself, ha.) Except I’m totally going to miss the Nerdaerie! But lalalalallaaaa not thinking about that until May, to prevent separation anxiety from taking over. At least I can reflect on the pertinent things a liberal arts education has taught me:

  1. Nutria are disgusting. Like, really disgusting. If you’re not lucky enough to go to Willamette and encounter them, they’re like a cross between a beaver and a rat. EW.
  2. Writing a beast thesis isn’t really as hard as people say… but it still sounds impressive.
  3. Bring a rain jacket, even if it’s sunny in Salem. You never know… it might snow/rain/hail/be sunny, all within an hour.
  4. I know where ALL the good tuna melts are located in Salem. This is VERY important.

Just kidding! These helpful tidbits aren’t all I’ve learned… but that’s for another post, since I’m too hungry to be serious. Time for dinner! (Though what that will be, I have nooo idea. To be dealt with momentarily).

Okay, so I promised something new, right?! I can’t vouch for the gorgeousness of the pictures, but I promise it was deeelicious. My pictures really don’t do it justice, but my impatience to eat it certainly does.

On one of my thesising breaks this past week, I realized we had *gasp* TWO DEAD BANANAS! What to do?! Bake. Natch. Banana bread? Nah, boring. And no cookies either… because we’ve had a lot of those lately. Cake? YES. Oooeygooeydrippy frosted cake? Even better. Especially when it’s healthy disguised as decadent. Yum, yes please. So this happened. Healthy, banana-oat-vegan-peanut butter goodness.

up close drippy goodness

Banana-Oat Cake with Fabulously Drippy Peanut Butter Glaze

Recipe slightly adapted from Oh She Glows, here!I made a half-batch, for a 6″ round cake. I’ll post those measurements here; double for a larger size and use an 8″ round cake pan!

  • 1 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 c rolled oats
  • heaping 1/8 c brown sugar (not packed)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 ripe banana, smooooshed
  • 1/6 c applesauce
  • 1/8 c light soymilk (or other milk/nondairy bev)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Fold in: a handful of chocolate chippies and  1/2 banana, sliced

cute little baby slice!

Preheat the oven to 350, and lightly grease your pan of choice.

In a smallish bowl, smash up bananas, and then add the rest of the wet ingredients: olive oil, applesauce, milk bev, and vanilla. In a larger bowl, stir together flour, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, sugar, and baking powder. Add wet to dry, and then fold in chocolate chips and banana slices.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a tester comes out clean! Let cool (or not, I may have been a tad impatient), and top with peanut butter glaze, until it gets all drippy and delicious.

Peanut Butter Banana Glaze

  • 1/2 ripe banana (leftover from the 1/2 banana that went in the cake, convenient, no?)
  • a good glob of peanut butter (about one heaping spoonful. Mine was chunky… not very aesthetic but delicious)
  • 1/4 c powdered sugar

Easy. Like you even need directions for this! Smash banana. Stir in pb and sugar… and stir and stir and stir until it’s smooth. Work those biceps! Pour over cake, lick off spoon, swipe finger to “clean” the bowl, etc.
Top cake with sprinkles, because, hey: life is better in color!

gooey, banana-y bite, just for you (or me, I suppose, hehe).

3 thoughts on “Ooeygooeydrippy goodness, and somewhat lacking photographic skills

  1. So, this very day I’m working in this amazing cookbook that reminds me of you in almost every way (sans fabulous giant earrings). There are Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes and Whole Grain Cookies FOR BREAKFAST. And then your blog showed up in my inbox and I said, “I must make enthusiastic contact with Spock!”. . . And now I have! <3 <3 <3

  2. This appears to be fast, simple and delicious. And with the sprinkles it looks like party time! I like the floating (in space) baby slice photo.

Leave a Reply

